top of page

Cute Axolotl - Free Crochet Pattern (Amigurumi)

Hey guys! I've had a lot of comments in the past on my YouTube channel if I could make an axolotl crochet tutorial, and I've finally done it! I made this pattern myself and I'd love to share it with you all for free. I've been wanting to make this video tutorial for a long time now and I hope you all enjoy it. For this pattern, the axolotl is laying down with its face pointing forward. It has the six signature gills of a real axolotl and it is so cute! In the pictures I even included one of the axolotls from Minecraft with the blue and pink colors.


Feel free to follow my video tutorial for an in depth guide on how to make these cuties:



If you follow this pattern, you can send me a picture on Instagram if you'd like:

@taylor.peach


Materials Needed:

(the yarn I use is worsted weight (4))

  • Light Pink Yarn

  • Darker Pink Yarn

  • 5.5mm crochet hook

  • Stuffing

  • Scissors

  • Yarn Needle

  • Placeholder

  • 7mm Safety Eyes

Key:

  • Sc (Single Crochet)

  • Inc (Increase)

  • Dec (Decrease)

  • St (Stitch)

  • Sl St (Slip Stitch)

  • Ch (Chain)

Pattern:

Head - Light pink yarn

  • R1: Magic circle, 6 Sc (6)

  • R2: Inc around (12)

  • R3: (1 Sc, Inc) repeat (18)

  • R4: (2 Sc, Inc) repeat (24)

  • R5: (3 Sc, Inc) repeat (30)

  • R6-10: Sc around for 5 rounds (30)

  • R11: (3 Sc, Dec) repeat (24) Attach Eyes

  • R12: (2 Sc, Dec) repeat (18) Stuff

  • R13: (1 Sc, Dec) repeat (12)

  • R14: Dec around (6)

  • Sl St into next St and tie off, leave tail for sewing

Body - Light pink yarn

  • R1: Magic Circle, 6 Sc (6)

  • R2: Inc around (12)

  • R3: 3 Sc, 3 Inc, 3 Sc, 3 Inc (18)

  • R4: 6 Sc, 3 Inc, 6 Sc, 3 Inc (24)

  • R5: 9 Sc, 3 Inc, 9 Sc, 3 Inc (30)

  • R6-R13: Sc around for 8 rounds (30)

  • R14: 9 Sc, 3 Dec, 9 Sc, 3 Dec (24)

  • R15: 6 Sc, 3 Dec, 6 Sc, 3 Dec (18) Stuff

  • R16: 3 Sc, 3 Dec, 3 Sc, 3 Dec (12)

  • R17-R19: Sc around for 3 rounds (12)

  • R20: (2 Sc, Dec) repeat (9)

  • R21-R23: Sc around for 3 rounds (9)

  • R24: (1 Sc, Dec) repeat (6)

  • R25: Sc around (6)

  • Sl St into next St and tie off, sew hole in tail closed

Legs (Make 4) - Light pink yarn

  • R1: Magic circle, 7 Sc (7)

  • R2-R7: Sc around for 6 rounds (7)

  • Sl St into next St and tie off, leave tail for sewing

Gills (Make 6) - Darker pink yarn

  • Chain 7

  • Sc into the second chain from your hook, continue to make 6 Sc (6)

  • Sl St into same St and tie off, leave tail for sewing

Attach the head to the body

Attach the gills to the head. Line up the outermost gills to the eyes and the center of the head. continue to place gills one stitch apart. Each side will have 3 gills.

Attach the legs pointed slightly downward so they will touch the surface when sat on its belly. Two in the back near the tail pointed outward, and two in the front near the head pointed outward.


Thank you so much for following my pattern! I made this myself and I hope you enjoyed it!

2,376 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page